The races

The Spa World Rallycross of Benelux will now close a season that promises to be thrilling on 9 & 10 October 2021

The cocktail is expected to be absolutely explosive for the last round of the season which will host all the FIA World Rallycross Championship series: the World RX1, the RX2e, the Euro RX1 and the Euro RX3.




Format of the race

Each leg of the FIA World Rallycross Championship includes practice sessions, four series of qualification, two semi-finals and one final.

There are four series of qualification with a maximum of five cars taking the frontal start in each race over four laps.

Series 1 : The starting positions are determined by drawing lots before the race.

Series 2 to 4 : The car positions at the start are determined according to the ranking of series 1. The same system is repeated until series 4.

All the qualifying series laps are timed runs. The fastest driver in each series obtains 50 points, the second: 45 points, the third: 42 points, the fourth: 40 points, the fifth, 39 points, the sixth, 38 points, etc.

After the qualifications, a provisional ranking is established on the basis of the total of points accumulated by each driver in the four series.

Semi-finals : Six drivers take the start, positioned two by two on the grid. Each semi-final takes place over six laps. The 12 drivers who have accumulated the most points in the provisional ranking qualify for the semi-finals. The winner, the second and third place of each semi-final qualify for the final.

Final : The final also has six drivers positioned on three lines, for six laps of the circuit.

The winner of the semi-final who has earned the highest points takes the pole position on the starting grid, followed by the winner of the other semi-final. The same procedure is applied to the two drivers who came second in the semi-finals, and for those who came in third.

The winner of the final will be the winner of the race.

In the final ranking, places 1 to 6 are allocated based on the results of the final. The other drivers will be ranked according to the number of points marked during the races.

Joker Lap

This is an alternative section of the track which adds at least two seconds to the lap time. Each driver must take this once in each race, semi-final and final. If they miss the Joker Lap, a penalty will be imposed on the drivers of 30 seconds in the series of qualification, are ranked last and lose points in a semi-final or a final.


Drivers earn championship points at three stages of each leg.
The top 16 drivers after the four qualification series (provisional ranking) earn points:

16 points for the best-placed driver, 1 point for whoever occupies the 16th position.
The best 12 pass to the two semi-finals of six cars.  The first in earns six points, and the sixth earns a single point. The top three of each semi-final advance to the  final.

Points allocated during the finals:

  • 1st: 8 points
  • 2nd: 5 points
  • 3rd: 4 points
  • 4th: 3 points
  • 5th: 2 points
  • 6th: 1 point

The maximum score during a leg is 30 points (16+6+8). All the points earned in the 12 legs are counted.
Each team benefits from the addition of all points collected by its two drivers during all the legs. Drivers can change during the season.